Q & A… with Myself

Q&A WITH… MYSELF
Because I’m a writer who thinks everyone cares about what I have to say when in reality it doesn’t really matter.

Okay, look, I’m just writing to write. If you don’t like it, then take you flea ridden mongrel self to another blog.

*turns to leave*

I’m just kidding. You can stay.

*Glances over shoulder before prancing down the road*

Wait! Please stay!

*Runs away quickly*

I knew I should have trained that dog better. He’s always running off. Oh well, on to the writery write stuff!

WHEN DID YOU START WRITING?

You know, I’m not entirely sure how to answer this question. I recently found an old short story that I wrote as a kid about a girl who stole a black diamond and another one I wrote a few years later about a dog. So, I guess I’ve always been writing. It must be in my DNA or something because I just can’t quit either… trust me, I’ve tried. Of course that’s a story for another time. I don’t want to depress you guys just yet.

AS A WRITER, WHAT IS YOUR BIGGEST WEAKNESS?

Hmmmm. That’s a tough one to answer. I recently posted a blog about weaknesses in writing, but I didn’t really go into detail about my biggest weakness. In fact, it wasn’t even on the list.

*Gasp* You didn’t put your biggest weakness on a list of weaknesses?

Short answer: No. No I didn’t. That wasn’t because I didn’t think it wasn’t worth talking about, but because I could probably write an entire blog post on it alone. (And I probably will later)

The truth is that the biggest weakness I have as a writer is staying focused on one story at a time. My brain is split. I can start writing on one story for days, but lose momentum and switch to another one. As you can imagine, that type of writing is much more time consuming. I hardly get any writing done on a single story, but I’m working on it.

DO YOU THINK YOU WILL EVER BE PUBLISHED?

Yes. Yes I do. It will be fantastic. One day you will go into a book store and see one of my books on the shelves and think, ‘Hey I know that chick! She writes that blog I read.’ Of course, this is assuming that people are reading my blog by then.

Next question.

WHY DID YOU START A WRITING BLOG BEFORE BEING PUBLISHED?

Well, to be honest, I started this blog for myself. I don’t care if anyone reads it (although it would be nice if they do). This is just a place for me to share my thoughts on writing as I go through the processes. It is also a place I can vent my frustrations about writing. The fact that I haven’t been published is irrelevant. I’m a writer regardless. Writing isn’t a choice for me. If I don’t write I will go crazy.

WHAT’S MORE IMPORTANT, PLOT OR CHARACTER?

Easy. Character. Without the characters there can be no plot. You can have the greatest idea for the plot of a story ever, but without characters it’s meaningless.

DO YOU THINK I WILL EVER BE PUBLISHED?

I don’t know. I don’t know you or your writing. (I realize that I am writing a Q and A with myself, but this question is posed as though you (the reader) is asking). Also, this is not an invitation to send me your writing. If you want me to read something that you have written, ask first.

IF YOU CRASHED ON A DESERTED ISLAND, WHAT THREE THINGS WOULD YOU BRING WITH YOU?

A luggage bag full of notebooks, a luggage bag full of pens, and a water purifier. I could make shelter and find food easily enough. The island is deserted, not a desert. It’s also not a dessert. Although it would be pretty neat to crash on an island made of cake. Unhealthy, but neat.

WHAT IS YOUR PREFERED WRITING METHOD: BY PEN AND PAPER OR TYPING ON A KEYBOARD?

Well, if you looked in my room, you would think by pen and paper, but the truth is that I like both equally the same. I guess it depends on the kind of mood I’m in or where I’m at. If I’m at home or at school, I usually use my laptop, but if I’m anywhere else I will use a pen and paper.

I could probably think of more questions to ask myself, but I feel like this post is getting boring. (At least I’m getting bored writing it). Anyway, leave a comment if you have any other questions you would like me to answer. No, they don’t have to be related to writing.

Leave a Reply

